From left, Haley LaKind, President Debra Goldberg and Katie Watts were honored at the Swampscott Rotary Club Installation Dinner last month.

Goldberg to lead Swampscott Rotary

SWAMPSCOTT — Debra Goldberg was inducted as president of the Swampscott Rotary Club at its annual Installation Dinner at Swampscott Yacht Club June 20.   

Goldberg is a longtime active Rotarian who served as Rotary's president once before. Among many responsibilities, she is in charge of the scholarship committee.

In addition to new officers, the rotary club also gave special awards and recognized this year's scholarship recipients and their families.

Susan Bishop was awarded the Paul Harris Award, one of Rotary's highest honors. Bishop is a tireless worker, for Swampscott Rotary and many other local non-profit organizations.

Scholarship winners in attendance were Katie Watts, who will attend Endicott College this fall, and Haley LaKind, who will attend the University of Massachusetts-Amherst. Both received $5,000 scholarships.

More Stories From Swampscott