Local Government and Politics, News

Hause, Titcomb top Swampscott selectmen ticket; Marshall, O’Connor take school seats

Swampscott Board of Selectmen candidate Don Hause, left, speaks with Polly Titcomb supporter Rebecca Greene, and Abe Nassar of Swampscott looks on as they campaign in front of Swampscott High School on Tuesday. (Spenser R. Hasak)

SWAMPSCOTT — After a tight race all around, it’s Donald Hause and Polly Titcomb on the Board of Selectmen and Amy O’Connor and Carin Marshall on the School Committee.

The unofficial election results showed incumbent Hause with 1,319 votes and challenger Titcomb trailing with 1,287. Andrea Calamita had 681 votes, Stephen Williams got 472, Dina Maietta had 356 and John “Rich” Cassidy had 319.

“I feel fulfilled,” said Hause, who is now in his second term as a selectman. “I do have to say though, this was the first time in 20 years where six people were running for this seat, so kudos to everyone who ran and put themselves out there. I feel honored the voters recognized my achievements as a selectman.”

Hause said he worked closely with Titcomb during the campaign. He said he is excited to work alongside her on the board.

“Polly is a natural because of her Finance Committee experience,” Hause said. “During the debates, we all said the biggest challenge once elected was going to be voting on a budget in 30 days, and how critical it’s going to be. She’s familiar with it and can jump right in and make intelligent decisions.”

Titcomb was unable to return comments to the Item before the publishing deadline.

When it came to the two open School Committee seats, it was a close race for that second chair. Incumbents O’Connor, with 1,350 votes, and Marshall, 1,198, just made it over the hill to beat challenger Keiko Zoll, who brought in 1,076 votes.

O’Connor told the Item during a brief phone interview that she and Marshall celebrated together on Tuesday evening.

“We are thrilled to be able to continue the path the school district is on and continue to outperform over the next few years,” O’Connor said. “It was a hard fought race and I think everybody put in their best effort.”

“I am very happy and honored to be able to continue to serve our school district,” said Marshall. “I am certain our experienced committee and leadership team will continue to achieve the best for our students, staff and schools.”

The last contested race was for the three open town constable seats and the incumbents won. Jeffrey Blonder won the first seat with 1,259 votes, next was Gabriel Mongiello with 1,127, and third was Stephen Simmons with 1,125. The sole challenger, Michael Bencale, brought in 645 votes.

Of the 11,017 registered voters for this election, there were 2,435 ballots turned in, a 22 percent voter turnout.


More Stories From Swampscott