Local Government and Politics, News

Abundance of challengers set for Swampscott election

SWAMPSCOTT — Swampscott’s election ballot is set. It may be missing the name of one selectman, but there is an abundance of challengers eager to run in most of the races.

Patrick Jones, who has been on the Board of Selectmen since 2016, has opted out of running for re-election. Incumbent Donald Hause, who joined the board the same year as Jones, is ready to begin, along with five new faces, campaigning for the two open selectmen slots.

“I will not be seeking re-election for the Swampscott Board of Selectmen,” Jones said. “While I greatly appreciate the opportunity to serve Swampscott, serving requires much more time than my personal and professional commitments allow at this time.”

Before becoming a selectman, Jones served on the Planning Board for five years, chaired the Police Station Building Committee, and worked as a founding member of the AllBlue foundation, which brought the turf field project to fruition.

John R. Cassidy, Andrea Lee Calamita, Dina Maietta, Mary Polly Titcomb, and Stephen T. Williams are among the newcomers running for Board of Selectmen.

For the two open slots on the School Committee, challenger Keiko Zoll is running against incumbents Amy O’Connor and Carin Marshall. Zoll has a campaign website already up and running.

Her campaign slogan states: “A voice for Swampscott’s young families.”

Stephanie E. Goodman is the only name on the ballot for the one open Board of Health position. Incumbent Alison J. Oxton did not pull nomination papers.

There is one open position on the Planning Board. The race will pit incumbent Elizabeth Isler against newbie Michael Proscia.

For the one open seat on the Housing Authority, there will be no names on the ballot. A candidate may win as a write-in as long as they have the required 50 votes.

There are three open town constable positions. Incumbents Stephen B. Simmons, Gabriel Mongiello, and Jeffrey S. Blonder will run against challenger Michael Bencale.

The uncontested races include Michael McClung as town moderator and John Tripp as the trustee of the public library.

The last day and hour to file withdrawals or objections to all nominations is March 28 by 5 p.m., and all residents must register to vote by 8 p.m. on April 10. Town Election will be held April 30 and Town Meeting is on May 20.


More Stories From Swampscott