Northeastern Conference indoor track awards announced

Classical's Junior Mejia was named a Northeastern Conference all-star. (Item File Photo)

The Northeastern Conference boys and girls indoor track all-stars and awards for the 2018-2019 season were announced Monday with plenty of local athletes earning well-deserved recognition. For the boys, Peabody (North) and Somerville (South) were the league champions. Peabody’s Antonio Craveiro was named NEC North Athlete of the Year, Medford’s Tristen Howard earned the honor for the South. Peabody’s Fernando Braz was named NEC North Coach the Year, Somerville’s David Dickerson earned the honor for the South. The sportsmanship awards went to Everett and Medford.

For the girls, Peabody (North) and Swampscott (South) were the league champions. Beverly’s India Ingemi (North) and Somerville’s Aislinn Cannistraro (South) were the athletes of the year. Peabody’s Tom Holland was named NEC North Coach of the Year. Joe Donlon (Medford) and Joe Tenney (Swampscott) are the co-NEC South coaches of the year. The sportsmanship awards went to Revere (North), Medford and Classical (South).

The all-conference boys team includes Jackson Anderson (Somerville, 55 meter hurdles), Tristen Howard (Medford, 55 meter dash and long jump), William Aylward (Peabody, one mile), Jaichaun Jones (Beverly, 300 meter), Patrick Gilligan (Beverly, 600 meter), Yousef Lahkiky (Malden, 1000 meter), Claudio Rocha (Peabody, two miles), Gabe Carvalho (Peabody, shot put), Joseph Varghese (Swampscott, high jump), Peabody’s Ryan Buchanan, Trevor Smith, Jacob Farhat and Ryan Nagy (4X800 relay), Peabody’s Cameron Rich, Kemani Jackson, Pablo Rodriguez and Chris Morales (4X400 relay) and Peabody’s Jacob Hawthorne, Jared Ridley, Colby Therrien and Jordan Ilori (4X200 relay).

The all-conference girls team includes Aislinn Cannistraro (Somerville, 55 meter hurdles and high jump), Lucia Seide (Everett, 55 meter dash), Ashley Foley (Beverly, one mile), India Ingemi (Beverly, 300 meter and long jump), Leah Rudolph (Gloucester, 600 meter), Bella Corsini (Marblehead, 1000 meter), Elsa Hawkes (Beverly, two miles), Shataeya Smith (Malden, shot put), Olivia Young (Beverly, one mile), Peabody’s Bridget O’Connell, Emily McDonald, Sarah Enes and Victoria Lombardi (4X800 relay), Beverly’s India Ingemi, Grace Carella, Heidi Eberhardt and Rachel Mullins (4X400 relay) and Peabody’s Sadai Hadly-Mawasi, Jolene Murphy, Dado Nasso and Jayna Costello (4X200 relay).

The boys all-stars are Andrew Norm and Jackson Wood (Beverly); Mac Shillingford (Everett); Max Boucher (Gloucester); Jean Gerard and Ezra Kruckenberg (Malden); Chris Barrone and Oliver Glass (Marblehead); Trevor Smith, Matt Davidson and Daviel Canela (Peabody); Anthony Arias (Revere); Anthony Spignese and Liam Breen (Danvers); Ronan Fitzgerald, Worlf Malivert and Bobby McCarthy (Somerville); Najique Henry and Jackson Brigham (Swampscott); Bruno Auzec (Saugus); Leo Bruce and Ansel Miller (Medford); Cormac MacPhail (Winthrop); Patrick Collins (Salem); Junior Mejia (Classical) and Adnan Jalal (English).

The girls all-stars are Alexa Flewelling, Paulina Straticog and McKayla Fisher (Peabody); Liz Kuhns and Lauren Wood (Gloucester); Caroline Johnson and Kristy Twaalfoven (Marblehead); Mackenzie Gilligan and Emily Young (Beverly); Makayla Preston and Prynna Alper (Malden); Victoria Chaparro (Everett); Luana Barbosa (Revere); Haley Murphy (Danvers); Ciara Espaillat, Charlotte Andrews and Ashley Marston (Swampscott); Slanny Portotteal and Rachel Brennan (Classical); Camila Miranda Llovera (Winthrop); Ava Fiorino (Saugus); Aniya Crump (Medford); Kaylee Whelton Smith (English); Aislinn Cannistraro, Kemissa Osit and Lucy Childs (Somerville); Anyfern Gonzalez (Salem).

More Stories In Sports