Classical football celebrates its season at team banquet

Aynsley Rosenbaum (back to the camera) was the guest speaker at the Lynn Classical football team's banquet Wednesday. (Item Photo by Owen O'Rourke)

LYNN — Keith Ridley, who won The Item’s Scholar-Athlete award at last month’s all-star football banquet, won the award for Lynn Classical Wednesday night at the team’s breakup dinner at Gannon Golf Course.

Ridley, who was quarterback for the team, also won the MVP Award, named for the late Harry Agganis, a Classical graduate who is generally acknowledged to be the best athlete in Lynn history.

The guest speaker at Wednesday night’s dinner was Aynsley Rosenbaum, the offensive coordinator at Framingham State, who told the players that the time to start working toward their goals and dreams is right now.

“The question we ask is ‘what do we do now?'” Rosenbaum said. “You show up, set goals and do your best.

“For the juniors, your moment is now,” he said. “You have one more year. Prepare for it. Live it. Own it.

“For seniors, it’s much different,” he said. “But all I can tell you is that a close friend of mine’s father died recently and of all the things he talked about in those final days, he talked about high school sports. What he wouldn’t give to score one more touchdown, or get one more hit. So, start the next part of your life now. Just start. Get motivated, and own it.”

The list of award winners is as follows:

Coaches Awards: Marcus Ryan, freshman; Jeff Hill, sophomore; Aidan Dow, junior; and John Fernandez, senior.

Freshman offensive and defensive awards went to Alex Sylla and Yorian Gil Herrera, respectively while Danny Gisonno and Manny Guerrero won the awards for the sophomores.

Harold Durgin Memorial Award: Maurice Sequeira; Bob Melanson Unsung Hero Award: Cam Greene; Bill Joyce Sportsmanship Award: Bobby Sirois; George Moriarty Award for Commitment and Dedication: Chauncey Williams; Tim Frager Best Running Back Award: Marcus Tucker; Abel Marquez Leadership Award: Chase Buono, who also took home the Lex Thornton Defensive Player of the Year Award.

Buono, an Item All-Star, also received the Gerald LeBrasser Ironman Award, with LeBrasser, 83, on hand to present it to him.

Nashaun Butler, another Item All-Star, received the Boley Dancewicz All-American Award.

Head Coach Brian Vaughan also presented a $250 check to the family of Derek Durant, who died last month of cancer at the age of 47. His son, Kyle Durant was a kicker on the team this season. Also on hand was Durant’s wife, Carolee.

More Stories From Lynn