Here are the 2018 Item Football All-Stars

This year’s team features players from two teams that advanced to the state championship games in their respective divisions: St. John’s Prep in Division 1 and St. Mary’s in Division 7.

There are four returnees from last year’s team — Nashaun Butler and Chase Buono of Classical, Matt Severance of English and Emerson Ramirez of Tech.

The Item All-Stars are selected by the Item sports staff with input from coaches of teams covered by The Item.

The team will be honored at the Item All-Star Dinner Dec. 20 at 6 p.m. at Tedesco Country Club in Marblehead. Ticket orders can be placed through the end of Friday, from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the Item office, 110 Munroe St., Lynn.

No tickets will be sold at the door unless reserved by Friday by calling 781-593-7700 x1238 or by emailing

Former Lynn State Representative Steve Walsh will be the featured speaker. Walsh is a high school football referee who has officiated at numerous MIAA playoff games and Agganis All-Star games.

The dinner will also honor six major award winners, including the Item/Agganis Foundation Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year and the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Also honored will be the Peter Gamage Coach of the Year, named for the late publisher of The Item; the William F. Connell Student-Athlete Award, named for the late William F. Connell., a businessman who grew up in Lynn and who helped fund the science building at his alma mater, St. Mary’s; and the Edward H. Cahill Player of the Year Award, named for the late sports editor of The Item.

Click on the image above for a downloadable version.


Cory Bright, Bishop Fenwick, QB, Sr.
Chris Gally, Marblehead, QB ,Sr.
Keith Ridley, Lynn Classical, QB, Sr.
Matt Severance, Lynn English, QB, Sr.
David Cifuentes, Bishop Fenwick, RB, Jr.
Jalen Echevarria, St. Mary’s, RB, Sr.
Bobby Hubert, Winthrop, DB, So.
Darius McNeil, Revere, RB, Sr.
Nashaun Butler, Lynn Classical, End, Sr.
Jonathan Oriakhi, Swampscott, End, Jr.
Tahj Purter, Lynn English, End, So.
Wes Rockett, St. John’s Prep, End, Sr.
Jack Maguire, St. Mary’s, Line, Sr.
Jack Herman, Marblehead, Line, Sr.



Chris Glass, Peabody, Line, Sr.
Rayan Riazi, Revere, Line, So.
James Taylor, St. John’s Prep, Line, Sr.
Chase Buono, Lynn Classical, LB, Sr.
Dante McGrane, Saugus, LB, Sr.
Emerson Ramirez, Lynn Tech, LB, Sr.
Jaret Simpson, Lynnfield, LB, Sr.
David Barrios, Lynn Tech, DB, Sr.
Mathias Fowler, Lynn English, DB, So.
Graham Inzana, Swampscott, DB ,Jr.
Taj White-King, KIPP Academy, DB, So.


 Honorable mentions

BISHOP FENWICK: Derek DelVecchio, Sr., George Fiskatoris, Sr., Tom MacDonald, Sr., Keegan O’Connor, Sr., Ian Connor, Sr., Joe Rivers, Jr., Chrys Wilson, Sr.

KIPP ACADEMY: Daniel Oluwasuyi, So., Dave Filias, So.

LYNN CLASSICAL: Marcus Tucker, Sr., Dennis Pierce, Sr., Alberto Guerrero, Sr., Cam Greene, Sr.

LYNN ENGLISH: Alex Brenes, Sr., Tommy Gaylord, Jr.

LYNN TECH: Ali Bdaiwi, Sr., Elvin Gonzalez, Sr., Giuliani Daniells, Sr., Chance Buono, Sr., Noah Thurston, Sr., Kenny Perez, Jr.

LYNNFIELD: Cole Moretti, Sr., Clayton Marengi, Jr.

MARBLEHEAD: Aidan Michaud, Sr., Tim Cronin, Jr., Sean McCarthy, Jr., Declan Rudloff, Jr.; PEABODY: Joe Mastromatteo, Sr., Luis Guridys, Sr., Abe Kaba, Sr., Angel Paulino, Jr., Kyle Maglione, So.

REVERE: Frank Sims, Sr., Devin Matthias, Sr., Eric Bua, Sr., Jonathan Murphy, Jr.; SAUGUS: Jake Morgante, Sr., Christian Correia, Jr., Marvens Jean, Jr., Zack Kesbia, Jr.

ST. JOHN’S PREP: Aise Pream, Sr., Pat Keefe, Sr., Trent Tully, Sr., Colton Tangney, Sr., Mason Davis, Jr., Cooper Smith, Jr., James Hanley, Sr., Matt Crowley, Jr., Kevin Dewing, Sr.

ST. MARY’S: DJ DiCenso, Sr., George Freeman, Sr., Connor Donohue, Sr., Eni Falayi, Jr.

SWAMPSCOTT: Anton Vasquez, Jr., Dylan January, Jr., Jake Bartram, Sr.

WINTHROP: Chris Castro, Sr., Feedle Small, Sr.

More Stories From Lynn