Northeastern Conference announces football all-stars

English senior quarterback/safety Matt Severance was named the Northeastern Conference South Player of the Year. (Item File Photo)

The Northeastern Conference released its football all-stars and awards for the 2018 season Wednesday morning. The coaches of the year are Danvers’ Ryan Nolan (North), Swampscott’s Bob Serino (South) and Gloucester’s Tony Zerilli (Central). The players of the year are Danvers’ Matt McCarthy (North), English’s Matt Severance (South) and Gloucester’s Jan Pena-Ortiz.

“Matt certainly earned it,” English coach Chris Carroll said. “He was the best player in the conference this year. He’s a tremendous kid who put in so much work. He should be proud for winning it. I’m really proud for him earning the award.”

Malden (North), Swampscott (South) and Somerville (Central) earned the sportsmanship awards.

The North all-conference team includes Marblehead’s Tim Cronin, Chris Gally, Aidan Michaud, Jack Herman, Sean McCarthy and Declan Rudloff; Danvers’ McCarthy, Jack Strangie, Russ Canova, Tom Walfield, Brendan Treacy and Justin DiTomaso; Peabody’s Angel Paulino, Chris Glass, Mike Lock, Abe Kaba and Kyle Maglione; Beverly’s Duncan Moreland, Bobby Adams, Clayton McAlpine and Marge Mulumba and Malden’s Jerry Mervil and Rashaud Moore. 

North honorable mentions include Marblehead’s Mason Poisson, Malden’s Tyler Martineau, Davenche Sydney and Sean Stout; Peabody’s Luis Guridys, Aiden Kelleher and Jake Sousa; Danvers’ Almany Vargas, Ron Remotigue and Lance Ledesma.

The South all-conference team includes English’s Severance, Mathias Fowler, Tahj Purter, Alex Brenes, Thomas Gaylord and Ryan Dewan; Swampscott’s Jonathan Oriakhi, Graham Inzana, Andrew Augustin, Jake Bartram and Anton Vasquez; Saugus’ Marvens Jean, Dante McGrane, Jake Morgante, Sal Franco and Christian Correia; Salem’s Chris Ngrame, Sam O’Furie, Wayne Holloway and Melkin Baptista; Winthrop’s Bobby Hubert, Chris Castro, Feedle Small and Tyler Rockefeller.

“We had six players on the all-conference team,” Carroll said. “They all put in a lot of hard work this offseason. We have three sophomores, all really good players that we’ll be reading a lot in the future.

“I’m happy for them and the three other all-stars,” Carroll continued. “It’s nice to be well represented.”

South honorable mentions include English’s Jeriel Garcia, Boah Tean and Prince Brown; Swampscott’s Connor Lynch and Dylan January; Saugus’ James Moise and Zach Kesbia; Salem’s Jayco Pena and Winthrop’s Brett Sheehan.

The Central all-conference team includes Classical’s Chase Buono, Marcus Tucker, Nashaun Butler, Keith Ridley and Chauncey Williams; Revere’s Devin Mathias, Darius McNeil, Rayan Riazi, Frank Sims, Zac Furlong and Jonathan Murphy; Medford’s Tevin Cadet, Anderson Larosilere, and Keith Barrasso; Somerville’s Miyard Joseph, Louis Montina and Moise Nazaire; Gloucester’s Pena-Ortiz, Noah Benson, Joe Ciarametaro, Nick Allen, Geoff Lattanzi, Marc Smith and Nick Filho.

Central honorable mentions include Gloucester’s James Nelson and Ryan Argentino; Revere’s Zac Carifio and Eric Bua; Classical’s Raymond Ramirez and Alberto Guerrero; Medford’s Matt Aredes and Thiago Andrade and Somerville’s Robert Lavey and Wady Jimenez-Santana.

More Stories From Lynn