Plakans and Dawe share NEC softball MVP honors

Peabody pitcher Tianna Dawe was awarded co-MVP of the NEC.

The Northeastern Conference softball all-stars were announced earlier this week and the conference has voted co-MVP’s. The NEC MVP award is shared by Marblehead junior pitcher Charlotte Plakans and Peabody senior pitcher Tianna Dawe.

Both were instrumental pieces to their respective team’s state tournament runs. The Magicians fell short in the Division 2 North quarterfinal on Monday and finished the season 17-3. The Tanners lost in the Division 1 North quarterfinal on Tuesday and finished their year 18-4. Peabody won its first state tournament game in over a decade with a 5-2 win over Boston Latin in the first round of play.

Also on the NEC all-conference team are Peabody senior outfielder Luci Mastromatteo, Gloucester junior pitcher Sydney McKay, Beverly senior outfielder Marlee Hamor, Swampscott junior shortstop Katie Watts, Revere senior Victoria Correia, Lynn Classical senior pitcher Tori Adams, Lynn Classical senior catcher Meg Leavitt, Medford junior center fielder Brenna Forbes, Danvers junior pitcher Alexcea Glynos and Danvers sophomore third baseman Paige Wodarski.

The conference’s coach of the year award was earned by Medford Mustangs coach Jack Dempsey. The sportsmanship award was earned by the Lynn English Bulldogs. The NEC North featured tri-champions in Medford, Peabody and Marblehead. The NEC South crown belongs to the Gloucester Fishermen.

Gloucester and Medford remained as the last two conference teams remaining in the state tournament. The Fishermen clashed against Burlington in the Division 2 North semifinal Wednesday night. Gloucester lost 15-2, ending their season. 

The Mustangs will travel to Martin Field in Lowell for the Division 1 North semifinal Thursday evening (5:30), when they’ll battle Newton North.

The NEC North all-stars are Beverly senior Maddy Jalbert, English senior Grace Gately, Everett senior Kloey Cardillo, Peabody senior Mallory Leblanc, Peabody junior Kristina Rossignoll, Peabody senior Sydney Lowry, Medford senior Halle Farrell, Medford senior Sam Melanson, Medford senior Kim Scanlon, Classical junior Kayla Morrill, Marblehead seniors Sam Treff and Sophie Vener, Marblehead junior Mercedez Pelletier, Revere junior Olivia McManus, Revere sophomore Eve Lescovitz.

The NEC South all-stars are Winthrop junior Bella Perrotti, Saugus junior Caitlyn Wood, Saugus freshman Alexa Ferraro, Salem sophomore Jenna Tremblay, Malden senior Ashlyn Fitzpatrick, Danvers senior Erica Haibon, Danvers junior Kayla Robinson, Swampscott senior Riley Lord, Swampscott eighth-grader Chloe Rakauskas, Gloucester senior Taylor Abbott, Gloucester junior Elizabeth Schuster, Gloucester junior Tracy Wood, Somerville sophomore Nevalee Hopkins.

More Stories From Marblehead