Local Government and Politics, News

Here’s who’s running for office in Lynnfield

The town will see at least one new school committee member elected when the polls for the annual town election close on Tuesday.

Polls will be open at Lynnfield High School from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Topping the election ballot is a three-way race for two seats on the school committee.

Incumbent and current chairman Timothy Doyle will be joined on the ballot by Philip McQueen and Kimberlee Kossover Hansen.

Incumbent school committee member Salvatore Cammarata did not seek reelection this year.

Doyle said he grew up in Lynnfield, is a Lynnfield High School alum, and practices law in town. He and his wife have two children attending the Lynnfield Schools.

In his announcement of his candidacy, McQueen said he wants to bring his  20 years of education experience as a teacher, evaluator, contract negotiator, professional development trainer, and curriculum and assessment writer to the table to best serve the community. He stated he is well versed in the current issues and concerns that face public education today, and will listen carefully to the concerns of all and work proactively to make a good school system even better.

Kossover Hansen said she’s a professional, business-minded woman who has a vested interest in the education of Lynnfield’s children for the next 15 years. As a parent to a kindergartner and a preschooler, and a participant in a diverse set of community activities, she stated she has insight into what is happening on a daily basis in our schools for years to come, and will work to ensure that programs and services meet the needs of all students, while being fiscally responsible and accountable to taxpayers.

The only other contested race on the ballot is a two-year seat on the planning board, where John Gioioso is squaring off against David Gromko.

There are also unopposed contests for selectman, board of assessors, a five year seat on the planning board, housing authority, town moderator, and library trustee. Current selectmen Chairman Christopher Barrett is running for reelection, while Donald Garritty is running for board of assessors, Katherine Flaws for planning board, Arthur Bourque for moderator, James Wilkie for housing authority, and Russell Boekenkroeger and Janine Rodrigues-Saldanha for library trustee.

More Stories From Lynnfield