BREAKING: Three rescued from overturned boat in Nahant

NEC field hockey all-stars announced

After a stellar season in which the Swampscott field hockey team won its first tournament game since 2013, the Big Blue were rewarded this week as the Northeastern Conference field hockey all-stars were announced.

Swampscott coach Jamie Spano was named the Coach of the Year after leading her team to a 10-5-3 record during the regular season. The Big Blue topped Newburyport, 4-0, in their opening playoff game before falling to Division 2 state finalist Watertown in the quarterfinals.

Beverly senior Abbey Otterbein was named the Player of the Year, while Peabody, under new coach Karen Atkinson, won the Sportsmanship Award.

Swampscott juniors Sydney Cresta and Sarah Ryan made the All-Conference team, along with Marblehead twins Alex and Hadley Carlton, Peabody goalie Sofia Rodriguez and captain Mallory LeBlanc, and Saugus senior Alessia Salzillo. Rounding out the All-Conference team was Gloucester’s Marrisa Enes, Danvers’ Molly Thibodeau, Beverly’s Julie McMahon and Everett’s Lexi Bartolemeo.

The All-Star Team was as follows: McKenna Gelsomini, Nate Matthews and Meg Cotraro, Beverly; Erica Haibon, Danvers; My Doan, Everett; Cate Delaney and Jemima Grons, Gloucester;  Shakyra Antoine, Malden; Cricket Tompkins and Caroline Driscoll, Marblehead; Monica Correia, Peabody; Natalie Magglioli, Revere; Liz Schirippa, Saugus; and Olivia Fillenworth and Mary Miles, Swampscott.

More Stories In Sports