Northeastern Conference baseball all-stars announced

Classical’s Mike Zukowski was named NEC Coach of the Year. 

Peabody High School senior Jake Gustin was named most valuable player for the Northeastern Conference Baseball All-Star team while Mike Zukowski, who led Lynn Classical to a 19-1 record and a league championship, was named coach of the year.

Gloucester and Danvers, which play each other tonight (8) for the Division 2 North title, placed five players on the NEC South team while pitcher Marc Phinney made the all-conference first team.

Other all-conference all-stars are Louis Olivieri, Swampscott; Jack Wallace, Winthrop; Matt Collins, Beverly; Loany Rosario, Salem; Tyler Way, AJ Luciano and David Barnard, Classical; Jake Zeuli, Chris Gillen and Gustin, Peabody.

North Division all-stars are Beau Dana and James McCarthy, Marblehead; Nick Palma and Joe Gilmartin, Peabody; Mike Center, Medford; Hector Zavala, Revere; Luke Samperi, Beverly; and Matt Enos, Beverly; Geraldo Rojas, English; Sean Devin, Herb Newton and Brett Bucklin, Classical; and Bryan Bessler, Everett.

South Division all-stars are Kevin Camara, Somerville; Matt Andreas, Zach Dillon and Luke Dowd, Danvers; Luke Marshall and Spencer Perkins, Swampscott; Kevin Gilligan, Malden; Nick Dascoli Saugus, Luigi Spinazzola, Winthrop; Wesley Schaejbe and Matthew Silva, Salem; and John Mondello and Eric Chalmers, Gloucester.

The Fishermen won the team sportsmanship award.


More Stories In Sports