NEC Swim, Gymnastics All-Stars Announced

Sarah Sirois of Lynn Classical was named the Northeastern Conference diver of the year. 

Classical’s Sarah Sirois was named the Diver of the Year, Marblehead’s Ellie Ronan was Female Swimmer of the Year and Peabody’s Conor McCarthy was Male Swimmer of the Year as the Northeastern Conference swimming all-stars were announced.

Danvers’ Meghan Beaulieu was named Coach of the Year, and Peabody won the Peter Sawin Sportsmanship Award.

Marblehead, which finished with a perfect 9-0 record this season, was well-represented in the NEC All-Conference team and the NEC all-stars.

The girls All-Conference team is: Grace Maguire, Amanda Wager, Meagan Hathaway, Ronan, Marblehead, 200-yard medley relay; Hathaway, Marblehead, 200 freestyle; Maguire, Marblehead, 200 I.M.; Tessa Diaz, Swampscott, 50 freestyle; Sirois, Classical, diving; Andrea Higgins, Beverly, 100 butterfly,  Amy Nguyen, Salem, 100 free; Nicole Welch, Beverly, 500 free; Grace Athanas, Higgins, Sofia Blomqvist, Welch, Beverly, 200 free relay; Wager, Marblehead, 100 breastroke; Hathaway, Wager, Maguire, Ronan, Marblehead, 400 free relay; and Cambria Cloutier, Danvers.

The boys All-Conference team is: Jared Casey, Raphael Hicaro, Tyler Keyes, Jackson McPherson, Danvers, 200 medley relay; Andrew Carvalhis, Revere, 200 free; Hicaro, Danvers, 200 I.M.; Renne Venico, Salem, 50 free; Alex Pedro, Classical, diving; Steven Moody, Gloucester, 100 butterfly; Tom Rockett, Marblehead, 100 free; Kevin Pichardo-Cedillo, Beverly, 500 free; Pedro, Jacob Lang, Harrison Seitz, Eric Macorri, Classical, 200 free relay; Casey, Danvers, 100 backstroke; McCarthy, Peabody, 100 breastroke; Brendan Ward, Pichardo-Cedillo, Eric Higgins, Gavin Gleason, Beverly, 400 free relay; and Will Cronin, Swampscott.

The NEC all-stars are: Mae Caldwell, Ryann Driscoll, George MacDonald, Katie Walker, Marblehead; Beth Luther, Brooke Ekborg, Kostya Vostrika, Beverly; Sarah Roach, Athena Velonis, Danvers; Carly Mendonca, Elias Bakas, Alaina Gridley, Classical; Nicole O’Neill, Andrea Pappacostas, Peabody; Nicole Paddock, Revere; Owen Brown, Gloucester; Aiden Keenan, Salem; Caroline Zuffante, English; and Kasey Kennedy, Swampscott.

The league gymnastics all-stars were also announced. Beverly won the Northeastern Conference title, and Peabody won the team spirit award. Winthrop’s Christa Vaccaro was named the MVP, and Nick Roberts of Marblehead was named the Coach of the Year.

Other all-stars were: Alahna Guy, Beverly, vault; Maddie Beverly, Beverly, vault; Caroline Sordello, Masconomet, bars; Sam Rennie, Beverly, bars; Chloe Kavanaugh, Beverly, bars; Maggie Smart, Salem, balance beam; Danielle Carter, Winthrop, balance beam; Aldair Smart, Essex Tech, floor; Kara MacGilvary, Beverly, floor; Cat DiNanno, Masco, all around; and Nicole Bonacorso, Masco, all around.


More Stories In Sports