Nominees announced for Excellence Awards

White dollar sign on turquoise

LYNN — The Lynn Area Chamber of Commerce announced the 2017 Business Excellence Award nominees and award recipients for the 104th annual meeting, Wednesday, Feb. 1, at Spinelli’s function facility in Lynnfield. The event begins at 6 p.m. with a cocktail hour of appetizers, followed by dinner and the awards celebration.

The annual meeting is an opportunity for both members and community leaders to hear of LACC accomplishments in 2016, goals for 2017 and celebrate the membership’s business accomplishments.


Businessman of the Year”: Patrick DeBoever, owner Four Winds Pub & Grill; Tom McGovern, owner of Lynnwood Development; and Aaron Reames, owner of Bent Water Brewing Co.

“Businesswoman of the Year”: Attorney Christine Carey; Teresa Sirignano, owner of Café Avellino in Swampscott; and Pauline Spirito, owner of Infinity Boutique of Swampscott.

Large Business Category”: Home Décor Group, Life Care Center of the North Shore and New Angle Glass Co.

Small Business Category”: Big A’s Home Improvement, Brennan Tree Service and Taco’s Lupita Restaurant.

“Non-Profit Recognition Award”: Family & Children’s Services, Land of a Thousand Hills Coffee Co. and Mass Coalition for the Homeless.

“The David Solimine Sr. Community Service Award”: Tom Dill, owner of the Lazy Dog Sports Bar; Sean McCarthy, Salem Five; and David Raymond, Lynn Housing Authority and Neighborhood Development.

“Multicultural Business Leadership Award”: Planet Fitness, Pride Motor Group and Sidekim Foods.

“LACC Rookie of the Year”: Scott Chaplain, Agera Energy; Michelle Mitchell, IMMI LED Lighting & Energy Solutions; Alexander Sepulveda, owner of Private Jewels Fitness.  

“The Carol Vasapolli Volunteer of the Year”: Marlene Conroy, Aflac; George Herrell, Money Mailer of Southern Essex County; and Jim Reece, Plumr.

Receiving awards in the “Hall of Fame” category are Abbot House Nursing Home (members since 1972), Demakis & Demakis CPA (members since 1962), Welch Florist (members since 1950) and YMCA Metro North (members since 1950).

Lynn City Pride recipients are Essex County Sheriff Kevin Coppinger, retiring Sacred Heart Principal Joanne Eagan, Community Development’s Joanna Mills and North Shore Navigators’ GM Bill Terlecky.  

Receiving a Nahant Town Pride Award is community gardening volunteer Paul Ciara.  

Receiving Swampscott Town Pride Awards are Swampscott Town Planner Peter Kane and “For the Love of Swampscott”; a nonprofit organization created by residents who share a common love and enthusiasm for the town by creating town-wide events/activities and, accordingly, encourage the participation of town members in such activities.

Gold Sponsors are Beverly Bank, Columbia Insurance, Eastern Bank, General Electric, MG2 Group, Salem Five and Sidekim Foods. Silver Sponsors are Community Credit Union, Life Care Center of the North Shore, North Shore Christian School and Atlantic Ambulance. Bronze Sponsors are the Lazy Dog Sports Bar and Restaurant, Moniz & Mendes PC, and Wood and Associates Insurance Agency.

Tickets are $75 per person (tables of 10 or 12 are available) and include appetizers, full plated dinner and dessert. Go to or call (781) 592-2900 for details.

More Stories In Business