It’s time to vote

Polls for today’s primary election open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. as voters narrow the field for the Nov. 8 final.

When voters check in at polling places, they will be asked which political party’s ballot they wish to choose.

Voters in Lynn and surrounding communities will help decide several races including the 9th Essex District race for the Massachusetts House of Representatives. Democrats Saritin Rizzuto and Jennifer Migliore are on the ballot. The winner will face state Rep. Donald Wong (R-Saugus) in November.

The 9th District includes Saugus precincts 1, 2, 4-9; Lynn Ward 1, Precincts 1 and 2 and Wakefield precincts 1,2, 3 and 7.

Voters in 34 communities from Amesbury to Saugus will pick a Democrat and a Republican candidate for Essex County Sheriff to run in the Nov. 8 final along with unenrolled candidates Mark Archer and Kevin Leach.

Republican candidates for sheriff are Kenneth Berg, Jeffrey Gallo, James Jajuga Jr., Craig Lane and Anne Manning-Martin.

Democrats running for sheriff include William Castro, Kevin Coppinger, Michael Marks, Edward O’Reilly, Jerry Robito and Paul Russell.

Peabody Ward 5, Precinct 2 and Ward 6 voters today help decide the race for the 13th Essex seat in the Massachusetts House. State Rep. Ted Speliotis (D-Danvers) and fellow Democrat Bob Croce are on the ballot. Danvers and Middleton residents will also cast votes. The winner faces no Republican opposition in November.

Lynn, Lynnfield, Marblehead, Nahant, Saugus, Revere and Swampscott voters decide the 6th Governor’s Councilor Democratic primary today with Councilor Terrence Kennedy of Lynnfield and Boston residents Richard DiMeo and Stephen Borelli running.

More Stories In