BREAKING: Revere man guilty of first-degree murder in wife’s death

Little Leaguers Tobey, Sullivan climb to top of the ‘Hill’ with sportsmanship

Catcher Danny Sullivan of West Lynn American and shortstop Brendan Tobey of Wyoma are co-winners of the 19th annual Lynn Little League Sportsmanship Awards.The dynamic duo received the Hill trophies and new jackets from Rosemary Hill and committee members Bob Keaney, Russ Meade, Alice O’Neil, Frank McElligott and Joe Gill. Karen Robidoux served as a hostess at the awards party.Also receiving Hill sportsmanship awards were Patrick Finnigan of Pine Hill, Colin Kennedy of East Lynn, and Terry Thompson of Alice O’Neil’s Challenger League.Finnigan paid tribute to Hall of Famer Lou Gehrig by perfectly reciting Gehrig’s famous Yankee Stadium farewell speech.Sullivan was asked to reveal his best baseball moment during his all-star season in West Lynn. Instead of pointing to anything he did with the bat or glove, he replied: “My favorite moment, by far, was about my sister. She joined our team (all boys, mostly age 12) late in the season, and in an important game, she got a late-inning, game-winning double off the fence. It was great. I was so happy for her. And she is only nine.”McElligott, the 1994 Hill winner from Lynn Shore, was the main speaker. He told of how the award has meant so much to him, and that “sportsmanship is the most important thing in athletics and in life.”

More Stories In Sports